SR Facebook
p1

Sarkophag Rocks HP
         

SR Gästebuch
p1

Line
Poisonblack

Drive
Line


 

Poisonblack-Drive-m

Tracklist:

 

01. Piston Head

4:05

02. Mercury Falling

4:07

03. A Good Day For The Crows

4:24

04. Maggot Song

3:48

05. From Now-Here To Nowhere

6:10

06. Sycophant

3:49

07. The Dead-End Stream

3:29

08. Futile Man

6:21

09. Scars

5:07

 

10. Driftwood

3:30

Release: 27.04.2011 (Skandinavia)

 

 

Label: Hype Records

 

 

 

 

 

Release: 23.09.2011 (Germany)

 

 

Label: Cargo Records

 

 

 

 

 

Format:

 

 

Jewelcase-CD

 

 

LP

 

 

 

 

Line-Up:

 

Links:

Ville Laihiala

Gesang, Gitarre

Poisonblack Homepage

Antti Remes

Bass

Poisonblack @ MySpace

Marco Sneck

Keyboard

Poisonblack @ Facebook

Tarmo Kanerva

Drums

Hype Records


 

 

Drive  is the fifth album of the Finnish band  Poisonblack. The CD will be out through Hype Records on April 27th in Scandinavia. (and through Cargo Records on September 23rd in Germany)


There are some albums you wait for with especial eagerness. That happened to me with  Drive  because the previous CD  Of Rust And Bones  (2010) couldn't fully convince.  Mercury Falling, the first (digital) single off of the album  Drive  crashes out of the speakers into your ears and leaves a strong impression. A promising sign! Now I start listening to the album, the first note drops, then the party starts with  Piston Head. Less than 45 minutes later I knew that all my hopes for a top-notch album have been fulfilled. The quartet around mastermind Ville Laihiala just blew me away with those ten new tracks!


Off you go, with an album full of varieties, with a really good mixture of hard, noisy, guitar dominated rock in different styles but also a little bit of blues, a slight touch of boogie and slower spine-tingling stuff. The structure of some songs is very interesting. I love the surprising moments, especially when parts or tempo changes appear where you wouldn't expect to find them. All tracks have one thing in common: all are catchy songs without getting boring, even after the third repetition. Producer Tue Madsen and the four  Poisonblacks  did an excellent job. And, imho, they did it with a lot of love and passion for rock music.


On this album Ville's going strong and knocking my socks off. He uses his voice appropriately in any given style, mostly with a slightly rough and throaty voice - but his vocal cords are able to produce more than this: to sing soft and full of emotions. And the guitars, yeah, the guitars - noisy, rumbling, long guitar parts, great riffs and a lot of good solos. His activity as singer and guitarist is an absolute highlight for me. The rhythm-duo consisting of drummer Tarmo Kanerva and bassist Antti Remes did such an exciting job - wow! And I really like the bass lines. They are present all the time, grooving, but also have their special little moments in songs like e.g.  Sycophant. Keyboarder Marco Sneck sounds restrained and hushed but that perfectly fits in - and when he starts to play piano at  From Now Here To Nowhere... that's great!


My faves (it was a painful decision) are three songs that caught me at the first go:

From Now Here To Nowhere  -  a slower and spine-tingling track. Ville's voice sound pure and clear at the beginning, so soft and full of emotions, supported by feathery guitars and a piano, the powerful refrain comes along with decent female choral singing. Six great and special minutes.

A Good Day For The Crows  -  this song starts off with nice guitars, great rhythm, a slight touch of boogie, bluesy guitar solo in the middle, surrounded by hard rock - what a mixture! A fast song with that special something - ingeniously performed!

Sycophant  -  this song rocks right from the very first second, the bass lines are brilliant! Great guitar solos and again that rhythm that catches and transforms me into a nodding dog ;-)


There's one thing I don't like > there are only ten songs on that album. It would have been great to have more of that cool stuff, but this doesn't affect the overall score in any way 'cause I love each song. Albums that wows me from the very first start to the very end are rare, so, here's my rating>
 

Rating:
Ankh ReviewAnkh ReviewAnkh ReviewAnkh ReviewAnkh ReviewAnkh ReviewAnkh Review
7 out of 7 Ankhs

Marion Ney / Sarkophag Rocks
05.04.11


Translation by Susanne Blum
 

 

s1

 

[Updates] [Berichte] [Fotogalerie] [Gimme 5] [SarkoTalk] [CD-Releases] [CD-Reviews]

Line


Fußzeile-SR-2015

SR Facebook
p1

Sarkophag Rocks HP
         

SR Gästebuch
p1

Line
Poisonblack

Drive
Line


 

Poisonblack-Drive-m

Tracklist:

 

01. Piston Head

4:05

02. Mercury Falling

4:07

03. A Good Day For The Crows

4:24

04. Maggot Song

3:48

05. From Now-Here To Nowhere 

6:10

06. Sycophant

3:49

07. The Dead-End Stream

3:29

08. Futile Man

6:21

09. Scars

5:07

 

10. Driftwood

3:30

Release: 27.04.2011 (Skandinavien)

 

 

Label: Hype Records

 

 

 

 

 

Release: 23.09.2011 (Deutschland)

 

 

Label: Cargo Records

 

 

 

 

 

Formate:

 

 

Jewelcase-CD

 

 

LP

 

 

 

 



Line-Up:

 

Links:

Ville Laihiala

Gesang, Gitarre

Poisonblack Homepage

Antti Remes

Bass

Poisonblack @ MySpace

Marco Sneck

Keyboard

Poisonblack @ Facebook

Tarmo Kanerva

Drums

Hype Records


 

 

Drive  ist das fünfte Studio-Album der finnischen Band  Poisonblack. Die CD wird am 27.04. in Skandinavien veröffentlicht (Hype Records). Der VÖ-Termin für Deutschland liegt nun auch vor: es ist der 23.09.11 (Cargo Records)


Auf manche Alben wartet man mit einer besonderen Spannung. So ging es mir mit  Drive, denn die letzte CD namens  Of Rust And Bones  (2010) konnte mich nicht so voll und ganz überzeugen. Als erste Vorab-Digital-Single-Auskopplung aus dem 2011er Werk gab es den Titel  Mercury Falling  um die Ohren und der knallt schön rockig aus den Boxen. Das ließ doch sehr hoffen... Album gestartet – die Lebensvitalzeichen piepen kurz und dann geht´s volle Lotte ab mit  Piston Head... Knappe 45 Minuten später wusste ich, dass meine Hoffnung auf eine richtig geniale Hammer-Scheibe erfüllt wurde - die zum Quartett geschrumpfte Combo um Mastermind Ville Laihiala begeistert mich mit den zehn neuen Tracks so was von!


Die finnische Post geht gewaltig ab und das in diverse Richtungen. Kein reines Hau-Rein-Album, da steckt einiges an Abwechslung drin. Eine richtig gute Mixtur von hartem krachendem gitarrenlastigem Rock in verschiedenen Gangarten, aber auch ein bisschen Blues, ein Touch Boogie und was Langsameres mit Gänsehauteffekt werden geliefert. Der Aufbau einiger Songs ist sehr interessant. Ich mag die Überraschungsmomente, wenn z.B. ein Part auftaucht bzw. ein Tempowechsel erfolgt, die man nicht unbedingt dort erwartet hätte. Alle Tracks haben eins gemeinsam – sie bleiben im Ohr hängen, aber ohne den Effekt, nach dem dritten Anhören langweilig zu werden. Produzent Tue Madsen und die vier  Poisonblacks  haben hier wirklich exzellente Arbeit geleistet. Da steckt meiner Meinung nach sehr viel Herzblut und Liebe zur Rockmusik drin.


Ville ist auf diesem Album stimmlich in einer Form, die mich weghaut. Er bringt alles optimal rüber, meistens in der rau-kratzigen Variante, aber er zeigt auch die andere Seite> sanft und mit endlos viel Gefühl in den Stimmbändern. Und was er an den Gitarren abliefert – es kracht, es scheppert, lange Gitarrenparts, coole Riffs, viele verdammt gute Soli. Seine Leistungen in der Doppelfunktion als Sänger und Gitarrist sind ein einziges Highlight für mich. Was Drummer Tarmo Kanerva und Bassist Antti Remes als Rhythmus-Duo durch die Boxen jagen – wow! Der Bass gefällt mir besonders gut. Der groovt munter und sehr präsent vor sich hin und hat auch seine eigenen kleinen speziellen Momente wie z.B. im Song  Sycophant. Keyboarder Marco Sneck ist eher dezent unterwegs, das passt so aber ideal ins musikalische Gesamtbild. Und wenn er bei  From Now Here To Nowhere  das Klavier auspackt, das hat was...


Anspieltipps – schwere Wahl - ich nehm die drei, die mich beim ersten Anhören am Meisten fasziniert und gepackt haben:

From Now Here To Nowhere  -  langsamerer Titel mit dem speziellen Gänsehauteffekt. Zu Beginn Villes Stimme pur und klar, so sanft und voller Gefühl, begleitet von zarten Gitarrenklängen und Klavier, der Refrain mit Power dahinter und dezentem weiblichem Chor-Gesang, knappe sechs besondere Minuten.

A Good Day For The Crows  –  allein schon die Gitarren am Anfang, dieser Rhythmus, für mich Boogie-Touch, mittendrin ein Gitarren-Solo im Blues-Stil, drumherum hauen alle Hardrock-technisch rein, was für ein Gebräu. Schneller Song mit dem gewissen Etwas - genial gemacht!

Sycophant  –  geht von der ersten Sekunde voll ab, was der Bass hier abliefert, verschärft! Klasse Gitarren-Solo und auch wieder ein Rhythmus, der zumindest mich einfängt und zum Wackel-Dackel mutieren lässt ;-)


Ein einziger Punkt, der mir nicht zusagt> nur zehn Songs - von dem geilen Zeug hätte es gerne mehr sein dürfen. Aber ein Abzug in der Gesamtnote wäre für mich nicht okay, da die zehn Tracks durch die Bank absolut mein Ding sind. Alben, die mich von vorne bis hinten begeistern können, sind rar gesät, somit bleibt nur>
 

Bewertung:
Ankh ReviewAnkh ReviewAnkh ReviewAnkh ReviewAnkh ReviewAnkh ReviewAnkh Review
7 von 7 Ankhs

Marion Ney / Sarkophag Rocks
05.04.11
 

 

s1

 

[Updates] [Berichte] [Fotogalerie] [Gimme 5] [SarkoTalk] [CD-Releases] [CD-Reviews]

Line


Fußzeile-SR-2015